The Allergy & Asthma Network (AAN) has announced its plans for a 30th anniversary celebration to be held as its annual conference in Washignton, D.C. The conference, scheduled for May 5-8, will features a special awards dinner to pay tribute to leaders in allergy awareness and research among patients, healthcare professionals, industry leaders, and staff members who’ve made significant contributions to AAN’s core missions of outreach, education, and advocacy.

Every year, AAN also hosts a congressional briefing on Capital Hill with key congressional staffers and officials. This year, the briefing will include Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee Jerome “The Bus” Bettis, a long-time food allergy advocate. The congressional briefing happens May 6.

May 7 begins educational sessions with leading medical experts who’ll present the latest in asthma and allergy research and explain current developments and trends in the years ahead. The awards dinner and banquet follows.

Finally, on May 8, AAN joins MEDA Pharmaceuticals and Medikidz USA to release the first of a series of comic books to explain asthma to children. That evening, AAN will host a free asthma and allergy screenings at the entrance to the Nationals Park before the Washington Nationals baseball game.

Award Winners List

The AAN awards winners include:

Andrea Holka, Outstanding Patient
William E. Berger, MD, Outstanding Healthcare Professional
TEVA Respiratory, Outstanding Partner
Marcela Gieminiani, Outstanding Staff Member

Brooke Sander, Outstanding Patient
Martha White, MD, Outstanding Healthcare Professional
National Association for School Nurses, Outstanding Partner
Dolores Libera, Outstanding Staff Member

Jon Terry, Outstanding Patient
Prem Menon, MD, Outstanding Healthcare Professional
Mylan Specialty L.P., Outstanding Partner
Sandra Fusco-Walker, Outstanding Staff Member

Jeff and Cristin Buckley, Outstanding Patients
Matthew J. Greenhawt, MD, Outstanding Healthcare Professional
American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology (ACAAI), Outstanding Partner
Laurie Ross, Outstanding Staff Member

In addition, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Administrator Gina McCarthy will present the EPA National Environmental Leadership Awards in Asthma Management during the Awards Dinner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}